At the operational level, the PSHP clusters are working closely with the national humanitarian clusters at both national and decentralized levels, which translates into the uniqueness and joint implementation of planned activities in DRM.

Thus, clusters are formed by sectors. The National Plan currently counts eight operational clusters (Food Security and Livelihoods, Water and Sanitation, Education, Shelters, Logistics,Nutrition, Protection and Health), supported by eight humanitarian clusters. The Information, Education and Communication Network (IEC) was revitalized and runs transversely.

If threaten by a crisis, the BNGRC may convene a restricted meeting to discuss the activation of the National Contingency Plan and effective rapid response mechanisms.  Clusters gets active at the same time depending on the context.

The state of emergency is declared by the Government at the national level, through the Prime Minister, and on proposal of the Disaster Stakeholders Brainstorming Committee. At the decentralized level, the DRM Local Committee may declare a localized emergency within its constituency, after consulting the BNGRC. A political crisis can delay or even prevent this process, and the Humanitarian Team must assume its mandate and responsibilities in the absence of such a declaration.

Thus, the BNGRC is the public entity responsible for the coordination of all activities related to prevention, preparedness, emergency relief, response and early recovery. In other words, one of the main mandates of BNGRC is to centralize, manage and disseminate all information related to disasters.